Last updated: May 07. 2014 2:23PM - 763 Views
By Megan Kennedy mkennedy@civitasmedia.com

Principal Scott Cottingim of Twin Valley South High School reads names of Honor Scholars.
Principal Scott Cottingim of Twin Valley South High School reads names of Honor Scholars.
Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

The annual Rotary Honors Scholar Banquet was held Thursday, April 24, at Twin Valley South, recognizing area students.

Jacob’s Ladder Founder and guest speaker, Jennifer Couch, discussed the adversities she had faced growing up in Arcanum, and the accomplishments she has made.

Watching her young mother work hard to obtain her GED, Couch felt inspired.

“From that moment on, my mom instilled in me that not only was I supposed to work hard, but I had to graduate. Period. No exceptions. I had to go through high school, I had to do well, and nothing else would be accepted. And if I really wanted to make it for myself, I was going to have to go to college,” said Couch. Watching her mother struggle financially, even after obtaining her GED, Couch said her mother was earning minimum wage.

“I had to go to college … I didn’t want to live that way,” said Couch.

The Jacob’s Ladder program, organized by five women, aims to combat child hunger through anonymous referrals of children. The organization will fill backpacks with canned foods for the children to take home with them.

“Life is going to throw you curve balls, but it’s all about how you react,” said Couch.

Students honored from Eaton High School included: Justin Allen, Amy Daily, Michelle McKinney, Claire Mumma, Jami Myers, Rachel Noland, Katie Smith, Kasey Titkemeyer, Taylor Broermann, Kristen Cottingim, Justin Halstead, Abby King, Yue Lin, Savannah Norton, Libby Springmier, Haley Stapleton, Autumn Whirley, Brittany George, Claire Gething, Kyra Houle, Maria Kern, Jacob Kreger, Taylor Lackey, Miranda Lee, Elizabeth Madewell, Jackie McCafferty, Lauren Muncy, Rebecca Noh, Jordan Puckett, Meaghan Puckett, Allison Webb, Paige Whitesell, Parker Wilken, Hannah Wray.

Students honored from National Trail High School: Katelyn Deaton, Kinsey Gibson, Katie Hollingsworth, Brandi Shepard, Karrie Buehner, Kara Gallaher, Kaylee Simpson, Kourtney Smith, Konner Aldridge, Olivia Gibson, Suzanne Kimball, Shivani Patel.

Students honored from Preble Shawnee High School: Virginia Agee, Austin Belvins, Eric Deaton, Brian Ketring, Jordan Lovely, Kristen Janson, Rebecca Richardson, McKenna Simpson, Shelby Thompson, Abby Woodward, Andrew Back, Johnathon Cottingim, Nicholas Frost, James Sims, Joby Williams.

Students honored from Tri-County North High School: Jesse Cavendish, Megan McClain, Urmil Patel, Savannah Smith, Jesse Applegate, Madison Duffie, Megan Duffy, Austin Hammaker, Taylor Hayslett, Joel Staahl, Kirsten Stacey, MAcey Dennison, Daniel Goepferich, Emily Jacoby, Taylor Matlock, Aidan Tomlin, Sean Tomlin.

Students honored from Twin Valley South High School: Kimerly Blankenship, Leslie Froment, Helen Holman, Michael Randolph, Anthony Augspurger, Abigail Fergus, Jacob Osborn, Alexandra Robertson, Jerica Taylor, Jason Utz, Jacob Bassler, Gabrielle Cooper, Jacob Huddleson, Jarod Utz, Ethan Wells.

All user comments are subject to our Terms of Service. Users may flag inappropriate comments.
comments powered by Disqus

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

Eaton Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com