Last updated: April 17. 2014 12:16PM - 1002 Views
By - emowen@civitasmedia.com

Zach Sullivan of National Trail earned co-wrestler of the year along with his brother, Ben.
Zach Sullivan of National Trail earned co-wrestler of the year along with his brother, Ben.
Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

There were several outstanding performances on the mat this year for county wrestlers, highlighted by a pair of National Trail wrestlers doing something no Blazers had ever done before.

Ben and Zach Sullivan of National Trail etched their names into the record books as the Blazers’ first-ever state placers at the state meet in March. Ben finished second at 220 pounds, while older brother Zach took third at 170 pounds. Both lost just one match at state.

Those performances led them to being named The Register-Herald’s Co-Wrestlers of the year in the county.

In all, 25 wrestlers from around the county reached the district level, with four making it to state.

Eaton sent 10 to the district level, while Preble Shawnee had six qualifiers. National Trail sent four to the districts, while Tri-County North had three and Twin Valley South had a pair.

Ben, a freshman, was the first Blazer to wrestle for a state title. He finished the season with a 35-4 record.

Zach, a junior, battled his way back through the consolation rounds to place third and become the Blazers first-ever state placer. He finished his season 45-4.

The duo led the Blazers to a team-best 11th place finish, with 39 points, just missing the top 10 by two points.

Joining the Sullivan brothers on the first team are state qualifiers Aldin Leaker and Colton Booth.

Leaker, a senior from Eaton, finished his season with a 30-11 record with 24 pins and his career with a 103-52 mark, with 82 pins.

Booth, from Tri-County North, finished his junior season with a 39-10 record.

Rounding out the first team are: freshman Coleman Foster (Eaton); sophomore Mac Alton (Eaton); junior Blake Sittloh (Eaton); sophomore Matt Todd (Eaton); sophomore Austin Moore (National Trail); freshman Camron Coatney (Preble Shawnee); junior Waylon Shope (Preble Shawnee); senior Justis Brewer (Preble Shawnee); senior Clint Newkirk (Preble Shawnee); junior Blake Lawson (Tri-County North); sophomore Shade Holsapple (Twin Valley South); sophomore Chase Sochaski (Twin Valley South).

Earning second team honors were: Brandon Weaver of Eaton, Drew Moore of Eaton, Shane Hammock of Eaotn, Levi Gilbert of Eaton, Shane Helsinger of Eaton, Cody Hapner of National Trail, Kolton Dillon of Preble Shawnee, Alex Steele of Preble Shawnee, Kole Monebrake of Preble Shawnee, Jordan Brewer of Preble Shawnee, junior Brandon Howard of Preble Shawnee, junior Caleb Dixon of Preble Shawnee, Anthony Jacobs of Tri-County North, Kyle Singleton of Tri-County North and J.T. Robbins of Twin Valley South.

All user comments are subject to our Terms of Service. Users may flag inappropriate comments.
comments powered by Disqus

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

Eaton Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com